Eat With Your Head


Tofu time
August 4, 2008, 4:25 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

At the request of a friend, I’d like to share some ideas on using tofu,which I ocassionally eat because it’s healthy and helps me stay full and satisfied for much longer. Soy of course, can be controversial. Overall, though, the consensus seems to be that soy can be a nutritious part of a diet so long as you don’t overdo it.

How do you know when you’re overdoing it? I would say eating it no more than a few times a week is a safe bet. But I’m sure some of you are more well-versed on this than I, how much soy is too much soy?

Now for the fun part. I primarily use tofu in stir fries. I’ve started to roast my stir fry vegetables first — it takes longer but makes for a tastier and more interesting meal. While the vegetables roast I sautee onions, garlic and tofu. The tofu just absorbs the flavors of the vegetables and sauces, and makes the difference between a light and heavy meal.

Another idea is to put a little tofu into veggie burgers. I made beet burgers by mashing together boiled potatoes, beets, a little bit of tofu, and of course onions, garlic and spices.

You can stick tofu into nearly anything. I saw this recipe for tofu chocolate pudding on the Food Network one time..I never tried to make it but I hope to at some point. This is a perfect use for tofu, because it tastes like nothing, yet adds the necessary texture and bonus nutrients.

Please comment on more ideas, soy fans!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

